• Grindstone

Catherine Cho to Judge 2020 Novel Prize


We are so very, very pleased that Catherine Cho will select the winners of this year's Novel Prize. Way back in 2018 (if you can believe it), Catherine was gracious enough to give us some insights into the fantasy and science fiction genres with the lengthy interview she did for the first issue of our magazine.


Then, in 2019, she came back to select the winner of our Flash Fiction prize!


And now, Catherine has once again come over to the grey side of the literary competition scene to preside over our 2020 Novel Prize. And we couldn't be happier.


As of this year, Catherine has joined the wonderful Madeleine Milburn Literary, TV & Film Agency as an agent, and is looking to expand her client list. Catherine is on the lookout for upmarket and literary novels in the vein of Elizabeth Strout, Chimamanda Adichie, and Ann Patchett, as well as fascinating high-concept stories like Station Eleven and The Time Traveler's Wife. But you can always catch her eye with love stories, family dramas, magic realism, and speculative fiction.

This diverse and eclectic reading list means that very little is off the table, making Catherine the perfect agent to dig into this year's crop of entries and find something spectacular.


You can read more about Catherine on her agent page, as well as how she joined the Madeleine Milburn agency in this article by the Bookseller.


If you would like to read more about the 2020 Novel Prize and our Early Bird discounts, you can do so on our competitions page or by checking out our blog!

Grindstone Literary Ltd is a privately run company providing literary competitions and opportunities to aspiring authors.

  • grindstone literary
  • grindstone literary